Senior Tricia Melland named Mother Evelyn O’Neill Service Award recipient

Two community leaders were named winners of the 2016 Mother Evelyn O’Neill Award at the ceremony March 8.


The six student nominees for the Mother Evelyn O’Neill Award smile after the award ceremony Mar. 8. photo by Meg Thompson

by Meg Thompson and Bridget Jones

Each year, the Mother Evelyn O’Neill Award ceremony honors two community leaders and activists – one adult and one student. The 2016 adult recipient is Charlotte Davidson, a community leader committed to advocating for children and families in poverty. Davidson dedicates her time to organizations including the Social Action Committee of Village Church, the Watchdog Organization, Do the Right Thing for Kids, the Front Porch Alliance, the Faxon School and GAGV (Grandparents Against Gun Violence). The student nominees included seniors Mary Hilliard, Claire Jefferson, Maddy Medina, Tricia Melland and Lauren Ryan and sophomore Tone’Nae Bradley-Toomer. STA named Melland as the honorary student recipient for her dedication to organizations such as the Ronald McDonald House, Children’s Mercy Hospital, and Beads of Courage.


[nggallery id=1217]